Marianist Periodicals
Several magazines and periodicals from the Society of Mary are available in the Marianist Collection, including...
- Alivea publication for the Marianists in North America
- Allatoncea magazine from the Province of St. Louis, which was published from 1971-1975
- Marianist Soundingsa publication from the 1980s through mid-2000s from the North American Center for Marianist Studies
- The Messenger of the Society of Marya publication that ran from the beginning of the twentieth century through the mid-1970s, which detailed the Society's progress and activities around the world, but primarily in the United States
- The Apostle of Mary (formerly known as The Messenger of the Society of Mary)a publication that was printed from the beginning of the twentieth century through the mid-1970s, which detailed the Society's progress and activities around the world, but primarily focused on the United States
- Things Marianistpamphlet-sized publication discussing a variety of topics from the Marianists' perspective
- Transitionsa newsletter of the Society of Mary's Uniting Provinces in North America, which ran from March 2000 through June 2002
Marianist Directory
- Marianist DirectoryDirectory of Marianists connected with St. Mary's University.
Search the Library Catalog
Curious about the religious order that founded St. Mary's University? We can help!
The Marianist Collection is fully cataloged and items may be found through the Library's online catalog. The items in the Marianist Collection are cataloged using a unique call number system designed specifically for Marianist materials. Resources include Marianist periodicals; books by and about Marianists; biographies of members of the Society of Mary, including our founder, William Joseph Chaminade; histories of the Daughters of Mary Immaculate and the Society of Mary; and information about Marianist activities and organizations throughout the world.
Search the Library Catalog to find Marianist Collection materials:
Don't forget to ask a librarian for help if you have questions.
The Marianist Collection is located on the second floor of the Louis J. Blume Library, next to the art gallery.
Other Information Resources
More information about the Society of Mary, or Marianists, is available online.
Marianist Province of the United States
The St. Mary's University's Vice President for Mission and Identity has a video of the history of the Marianists
The official biography of William Joseph Chaminade, founder of the Marianists, as provided by the Holy See.
The Vice President of Mission and Identity at St. Mary's University has posted these documents related to the canonization of Blessed William Joseph Chaminade:
Prayer for the Canonization of Chaminade
Biographical video about Chaminade and further historical documents
The North American Center for Marianist Studies has a selection of articles online
Reference & Instruction Librarian |
Contact Info Louis J. Blume Library St. Mary's University One Camino Santa Maria San Antonio, TX 78228-8608 USA 210-436-3346 Send Email |
Useful Religion Databases
- Catholic Periodical Literature IndexThousands of books and more than 100 journals concentrating on the Catholic religion are indexed. No abstracts or full text.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection DatabaseThis database provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history fo philosophy. Religion & Philosophy Collection offers more than 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, making it an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.





Loading...
