What's in this Guide
Federal Digital System (FDSys)
This system (FDSys) is designed to allow the Government Printing Office to manage information from all three branches of government in a comprehensive manner.
The system is committed to permanent public access, and contains a growing group of government databases. Access is through a sophisticated search engine, or, if a particular document is needed, through easy-to-drill-down menus.

State databases
The American Library Association's Government Documents Round Table (GODORT) provides this valuable listing of links to databases providing by state governments:
- State Agency Databases collection of links to databases provided by the various states
GAO Reports
The Government Accountability Office generates hundreds of reports each year on a multitude of topics related to government action in many fields. The Library has a limited collection of these reports in printed form (classification number is GA 1.13: ); find the specific numbers (as well as links to online versions when available) in the Catalog.
Here are two primary services which make the full text of many of these reports available online and searchable:
Introduction to the Guide

The databases linked on these pages are only a selected subset of U.S. and Texas government databases freely available on the Web. For other sources of data, and other listings of databases, see the box at the left on this page: "Other sources of government data."
The Government Printing Office's Federal Digital System (FDSys) is a major database of online government information. See the box at the left for more information.
Databases are included on these pages only if they are substantial research sources; almost all have some kind of search capability. Consult links on our main Government Information portal for additional sources of electronic government information.
Mouse over the tab titles above for a brief description of the types of databases covered in each area.
In boxes below are some resources that can be used to search multiple databases simultaneously, services known as "aggregated" or "federated" searching, and links to Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports and Government Accountability Office (GAO) reports. These documents provide valuable background information on a variety of important issues.
General Indexes & Aggregated Searching
- Catalog of Government Publications This index from the Government Printing Office aims to include references to all tangible and electronic government publications.

- For scientific and technical material, the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) in the Department of Energy offers three federated, or aggregated, search services:
- Science Accelerator
- Science.gov
- WorldWideScience.org

- Another valuable database within OSTI's set of resources is:
- Federal R&D Project Summaries
- UNData a portal providing access to 30 UN databases
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
These research reports by the staff of the Congressional Research Service cover all subject areas and are excellent overviews. Unfortunately there is not an official government site which offers access to the entire collection.
James Jacobs at freegovinfo.info harvests the reports from several different sites and makes them available here. You can search his archive directly from the box below:
In addition, the Blume Library catalogs many CRS reports when we find out about them. Look in the Online Catalog for links to these Reports.
Here are four major institutions working to make these valuable resources available:
- University of North Texas is the largest online collection of these reports
- Open CRS Project

- Thurgood Marshall Library of the University of Maryland Law School
- Homeland Security Digital Library
- And here are some more compilations of selected reports:
- CRS Reports & Issue Briefs (State Dept.)
- Selected CRS Reports (Air Univ.)
Government Information Librarian |
Contact Us
Call
210-436-3508 (Librarians)
210-436-3430 (Circulation)
Louis J. Blume Library
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228 USA
(Icons by http://dryicons.com)
Association of Public Data Users

This organization is, according to their website, "a national network of public data producers, disseminators, and users. The organization provides a mechanism to share news and concerns and advocate on behalf of public data users."
Some of their free resources, available to non-members, include conference proceedings and webcasts on subjects of interest to users of public data.









Loading...
