EBSCO DatabasesACM Digital LibraryAnnual ReviewsCIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)CQ Press Electronic LibraryCredo ReferenceDissertation AbstractsEBSCO eBooks (formerly NetLibrary)Gale Databases with BookmarksHispanic American NewspapersIBISWorldJSTORNetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)Oxford English DictionaryProject MusePubMed (MEDLINE)ScienceDirect20th Century American and English PoetryWall Street Journal
This is the "Overview" page of the "Linking to Library Resources in Blackboard" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Linking to Library Resources in Blackboard   Tags: blackboard, copy links, distance, durable links, faculty, links, permalinks, persistent links, purls, stable urls  

This faculty-oriented guide provides directions on how to link to library online resources in your Blackboard course. It includes detailed directions on how to create persistent links to content in the library's article databases.
Last Updated: Jul 27, 2011 URL: http://stmarytx.libguides.com/content.php?pid=209529 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 

Contact the Library

To contact a Librarian:
Email : Ask a Question
Phone: 210-436-3508
In person visit: Library and Reference Hours

To contact the Circulation Desk:
Phone: 210-436-3430

To contact the Library Office:
Phone: 210-436-3441

Louis J. Blume Library
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228
USA

 

Creating Links

Most of the  Blume Library's databases offer persistent links. Persistent links allow you to create a long-term link to an article, journals, ebooks, or other content in a database.  Click on the tab labeled Databases with Persistent Links to find detailed instructions for linking to materials in specific databases. 

Here are some tips about persistent links.

Where can I use persistent links?

You can copy and paste persistent links directly into your Blackboard course, to email message, or into an online syllabus.

Why would I use a persistent link rather than uploading an article on Blackboard?

You will not have to seek copyright permission to link to subscribed content in the library's databases, per the library's license agreements. To download, store and distribute copyrighted materials online (e.g. Blackboard) requires permission of the publisher and/or author.

Why can't I just copy the URL in my browser's address bar? 

In some databases, the address in your browser bar is dynamically generated, meaning the address only exists during the current period of your search.  Once you leave the database, the browser bar URL will no longer link to the article.  Instead, you will need to use the persistent link address provided by the database. This guide will let you know which databases use persistent links and which use the browser URL.

How do I find the persistent links?

This guide will tell you where to find the persistent link for each database (when offered by a database). Look under the Databases with Persistent Links tab for detailed directions,and images for each database. 

Will persistent links work off-campus?

Persistent links will work off-campus as long as the remote access prefix (http://blume.stmarytx.edu:2048/login?url=) is included before the database-provided persistent URL.  This prefix is embedded in some databases and is not embedded in others. 

Are there databases that don't support persistent links?

The library subscribes to some databases that do not offer persistent links. Some of these databases are Lexis/Nexis, Cabells, Global Road Warrior, KLD Socrates, Morningstar, NetAdvantage, and Salem Literature.


Business & Distance Learning Librarian

Profile Image
Necia Wolff
Logo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
phone: 210-431-2299 x1452
fax: 210-436-3782

Louis J. Blume Library
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228
Send Email
More info:
Other library instruction areas: history and the honor's program
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip