Remote Access to Databases
Access to subscription databases is limited to St. Mary's University faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students. Subscription databases are marked by a key
. Most subscription databases may be accessed off-campus via EzProxy.
Login Tips
You will be prompted to enter your username and password to access subscription databases when you are off-campus. Your username is your ID number (found on your Rattler Card). Your password is your last name. DO NOT USE YOUR GATEWAY LOGIN.
If you are not able to login, please call the on-duty librarian at Research Desk at (210) 436-3508. If a librarian is unavailable, please send a message to reflib@stmarytx.edu and include your full name, Rattler ID number, and a short statement descibing your database access problem.
Examples Login Accounts
Username: Your username is your ID number (found on your Rattler Card). Username Example: 4565678
Tip: Don't use letters or leading zeros. If your ID number is 0004565678 then use 4565678 as your username. If your number is s00056789, then use 56789. Your password is your last name.
Password: Your password is your last name.
Password Example: Smith
Password Example: Smith-Jones
Password Example: De Leon
Password Example: McNaughton
Password Example: O'Bannion
Password Example: Smitherish-Jones
Tip: Type your last name in with the first letter capital and remaining letters lowercase. EzProxy is case sensitive and won't work if you don't type your name correctly. Use spaces, dashes, and apostrophes if your last name includes them. If you registered with the University under a different name than the one you are currently using, please try both variations of your name .
Note: If you are at a place of business that uses a firewall, you probably won't be able to connect to the proxy server. Please try again from a computer that is not behind a firewall. If you use a personal firewall and you can't connect, please turn the firewall off temporarily and try again.
A
- Academic Search Complete
Begin your search with this database! Contains more than 8,500 full text periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Includes multiple languages. Journals offered cover all areas of study. - ACM Digital Library
Collection of full text and citations from ACM journal and newsletter articles, conference proceedings, and other publications that have been published, co-published, or co-marketed by ACM. - Agricola
Citations of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture. - Alt HealthWatch
Database of articles and reports with a focus on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Some full text articles. - Annual Reviews
Provides systematic, periodic examinations of scholarly advances in a number of fields of science through critical authoritative reviews.
B
- Bibliography of Native North Americans
Citations for journal articles, books, essays, and government publications covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Dates of coverage range from the sixteenth century to the present. Limited full text. - Business Source Complete
Key database for business and economics research. Includes scholarly journals, business magazines, industry magazines, country reports, company and industry reports, videos, and more.
C
- Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Business
Directories of journals in accounting, economics and finance, management, and marketing. Entries include information on style, format, topic areas, review process, acceptance rate, and publication fees charged by each journal. - Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
Indexes articles and book reviews from Catholic scholarly journals and general interest magazines. Coverage is from 1981 to the present. - Choice Book Reviews
Choice reviews significant books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. - CIAONet (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A full text source for theory and research in international affairs. Coverage from 1991 to present. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. - Computer Source
Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology. Offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications. - Consumer Health Complete
Full text article database designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. - Contemporary Authors
Information on modern authors, including those who were active prior to 1960 and whose works continue to influence contemporary literature. - Contemporary Literary Criticism
Presents published criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959. - CQ Press Electronic Library
A combined search of titles from the CQ Political Reference Suite and the CQ Researcher. - CQ Press Political Reference Suite
Online access to the full text of CQ Press publications: Historic Documents, Politics in America, Political Handbook of the World, Congress and the Nation, and CQ Almanac. - CQ Researcher
Offers single-themed, 12,000-word report provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. - Credo Reference
Hundreds of full text reference works from the best reference publishers, covering all disciplines.
D
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
Offers essays that outline the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work. Principal works of the author are noted as well as a list of further readings about the author. - Directory of Open Access Journals Multi-disciplinary database that provides indexing, abstracting, and free full text access for selected international scholarly journals.
- Discovery Texas
Search across multiple Texas library catalogs and databases with a single search. - Dissertations (St. Mary's only)
Dissertations written by St. Mary's University doctoral students. Graduating doctoral students must upload an electronic copy of their dissertations to Proquest after graduate school approval and before the graduation deadline. Do not upload theses for Masters' programs.
E
- EBSCO eBooks
Search through over 60,000 thousand of digital books. Download and read selected titles on your computer or eReader. Check out the eBook LibGuide for more information. - EBSCO Image Quick View
Search for all images found in EBSCO databases. - EBSCO: Search All EBSCO Databases
Choose and search a wide variety of the EBSCO databases using a single search. This page also has links to title lists of the EBSCO databases, help, and training documentation. - EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Online
Find a specific online journal or browse through a list of online journals hosted by EBSCO. - EBSCOhost Mobile
Access to EBSCO databases via the web on your mobile phone. - Economía y Negocios
Citations database is a tool for research conducted in the areas of business and economics. Spanish language. - Encyclopedia of Animals
Easy-to-read entries about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, dinosaurs and prehistoric animals. - ERIC (free access) Free access to the ERIC education article and reports database.
- ERIC (from EBSCO)
Key education database. Citations, abstracts, and some full text from over 1000 educational and education-related journals published since 1966. - ERIC DigestsShort reports (1,000 - 1,500 words) on topics of current interest in education.
- ESG Manager (formerly KLD Socrates)
An integrated suite of tools to conduct research and analysis across a broad spectrum of environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors.
F
- Fuente Académica
Scholarly academic journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. Provides full text articles from nearly 200 journals. Content is provided in Spanish from respected publishers worldwide. - Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Over 25,000 encyclopedia entries covering a variety of subject areas.
G
- Gale Powersearch
Search across the Gale databases with the ability to limit by database or by individual title. - Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search multiple encyclopedias and other reference works with a single search. - Global Road Warrior
Practical information for business people and travelers about each country in the world. - Google BooksSearch across the full text of millions of books. Most books are not available full text. Book pages link to Worldcat to find the book in a library.
- Google ScholarSearch for scholarly works from a wide variety of disciplines.
- GPO Government Publications Catalog (free access)Covers U.S. government documents such as congressional reports, hearings, debates, judiciary materials and more. Consists of records published by the Government Printing Office since July 1976. Includes documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).
- GreenFILE
A database of scholarly and general interest titles offering a perspective on the positive and negative impact of humans on the environment. Some full text.
H
- Handbook of Texas An encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture. It comprises more than 23,000 articles on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, and a host of other topic categories.
- Health Reference Center Academic
Collection of medical and professional periodicals, general interest health and fitness magazines, reference books and pamphlets. Some full text articles. - Health Source: Consumer Edition
Full text journal database of consumer health information. - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Focuses on many medical disciplines. Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals and abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. - Hein Online
Full text law journals, case law, and treaties. Note: This database is not available for off-campus use. - HeritageQuest
US Federal Census records from 1790-1930 and over 25,000 genealogical books on local history, genealogy, and primary source materials. - Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Full text of about 350 Hispanic American newspapers from 1808-1980, some published only in Spanish and some published in English and Spanish. - Historical New York Times
Full text of the New York Times from 1851-2008. - Homeland Security Digital Library
Includes homeland security strategy, policy and research documents published by federal, state and local government agencies, international governments and institutions, research institutions, universities, and think tanks. St.Mary's students and faculty may request individual research accounts directly from HDSL. Be sure to use your St. Mary's email account.
I
- IBISWorld
Reports and rankings on hundreds of US industries. Also includes information on over 8000 publicly-traded US companies. Also provides economic and demographic information via business environment research reports. - Index to Texas Magazines and DocumentsAn index of magazines and documents on topics specific to Texas with an emphasis on business, education, history, and government.
- Information Science and Technology Abstracts (ISTA)
Indexes journal articles plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings and patents in the field of information science. Coverage dates back to the mid-1960s. - InfoTrac Newsstand
Search newspapers for full text articles. - Internet and Personal Computing Abstracts
Includes article abstracts and indexing for publications covering personal computing products and developments in business, the Internet, the home, and related areas. - IOPScience
Full text physics journals.
J
- JSTOR
An interdisciplinary database of leading academic journals with full text articles. Most articles are 3-5 years or older. Full text available for many titles.
K
- Kids Search
A combined search interface for Middle Search Plus, Funk and Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia of Animals, Newspaper Source, Primary Search, and TOPICsearch.
L
- Legal Collection
Contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals. - LexisNexis Academic
Search the full text of current and historic news, non-English language news, retrieve company news and financial information, federal, state and international legal materials, medical and health information, biographies and other reference information. - Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts
Database focusing on librarianship. Indexes periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. - Literature Resource Center
Contains information on both classical and contemporary authors and their works. Obtain biographies of authors, bibliographies of all they have written, critical essays and contextual information. - LLMC Digital (Law Library Microfiche Consortium)
Searchable online access to government and legal literature.
M
- Magill's Literary Annual (Salem Literature)
Full text of Magill's Literary Annual from 1977-2010, an annual publication that critically evaluates 200 major examples of serious literature, both fiction and nonfiction, published during the previous year. - MAS Ultra: School Edition
Targeted at high school audiences, this database provides full text for more than 700 popular general interest and current events publications. - MasterFILE Premier
Offers articles on a broad variety of subjects. Searchable full text for popular magazines, book and music reviews, journals, company records and historical documents. - MedicLatina
Collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. Full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals. Spanish language. - MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Provides authoritative medical information via abstracts and indexing for over 3,800 current biomedical journals published in the U.S. and internationally. Some full text available. - Middle Search Plus
Targeted at middle and junior high school audiences, the database provides access to popular magazines and other information. - Military and Government Collection
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government by providing a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, pamphlets, and more. - MLA International Bibliography
This database is the definitive bibliography for scholarly materials in the humanities. Subjects covered include criticism, drama, folklore, humanities, language, and literature. Indexes journals, monographs and other books, dissertations, bibliographies and other sources. - Morningstar Investment Research Center
Analysis of stocks and mutual funds include analysts' recommendations; users may generate reports and analyze customized portfolios. Includes stock, mutual fund, and ETF screeners.
N
- Natural and Alternative Treatments
Contains articles on medical conditions, presenting in an evidence-based manner the alternative medicine therapies proposed for use in their treatment as well as information on herbs, supplements, functional foods, and alternative therapies. - NetAdvantage (Standard and Poor's)
Standard & Poor’s analysis and information on companies, industries, stocks and bonds, mutual funds/ETFs, S&P indices, and more. - Newspaper Source
Provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. Also contains full text television and radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
O
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
A historical dictionary that is the accepted authority on the English language as an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words, past and present, from across the English-speaking world.
P
- Philosopher's Index
Contains research published since 1940 including over 680 journals from more than 50 countries in all fields of research in philosophy. - PQDT OpenA repository of dissertations and theses published on an open access basis with the full text of each available for free.
- Primary Search
Provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. Coverage back as far as 1990. - Professional Development Collection
Collection of nearly 550 education journals and more than 200 educational reports. - Project Muse
Access to a selection of prestigious journals in the humanities and social sciences. The library's subscription includes full text access to a subset of the full collection. - PsycARTICLES
Database of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Coverage spans 1985 to present. - Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
This psychology focused database provides about 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. - PsycINFO
Key psychology database of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. Focus on psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines. Limited full text. Coverage from 1887-present. - PubMed (MEDLINE)PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations includes some full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
R
- Regional Business News
Offers full text content for selected international newswires and regional business publications. - Religion and Philosophy Collection
Offers full text journals for researchers of theology and philosophical studies. Covers topics such as world religions, denominations, biblical studies, religious history, and philosophy.
S
- Sage JournalsElectronic access to 600+ peer-reviewed, full text journals in most disciplines, with content dating back to 1999.
- Science and Technology Collection
Contains full text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 publications. - ScienceDirect
Database of journals in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences and medicine, social sciences and psychology/counseling. 1,400 full text journals. - Scribner Writers
Access to original and detailed bio-critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. - Searchasaurus
A kid-friendly search interface for Middle Search Plus, Funk and Wagnall's New Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia of Animals, American Heritage Children's Dictionary, Primary Search, and a collection of images. - Serials Directory Provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information as well as current pricing structures for popular serials.
- SPIN
A searchable database of grant and funding opportunities. - Student Research Center
A combined search interface for Health Source: Consumer Edition, Middle Search Plus, Newspaper Source, TOPICsearch, MAS Ultra: School Edition, Columbia Encyclopedia, and the Vocational and Career Collection.
T
- Teacher Reference Center
Includes more than 260 titles including books, teacher and administrator trade journals and periodicals providing coverage of educational topics. - Texas Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970)
Provides digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of over 12,000 American towns and cities. - Texas Reference Center
Full text journals and books about Texas. Also contains biographies portraying famous historical and contemporary Texans, several Texas newspapers, and more. - TOPICsearch
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. - Twayne's Authors Series
Offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements and to the development of literary genres. - Twentieth-Century American Poetry
Includes 52,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets. - Twentieth-Century English Poetry
Incorporates the works of 285 of the most widely studied poets of the British Isles and beyond, including over forty distinguished authors from The Faber Poetry Library.
V
- Value Line Investment Survey
Current and historical market and financial data on publicly held companies, along with analytical tools, rankings and expert analysis of the data. - Vocational and Career Collection
Full text coverage for more than 350 trade and industry-related magazines and journals. Focuses on topics relating to careers and jobs.
W
- Wall Street Journal
Searchable full text of the Eastern edition of the Wall Street Journal, January 2, 1984 to the present. - World History Collection
Journal database that offers a global look at history with content from Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and the Middle East. Full text dates back as far as 1964. - WorldCat FirstSearch
Information on the holdings of the world's libraries.
Locating Journals
Looking for a specific journal? The Blume Library's Locating Journals search allows you to search for a specific journal, newspaper, or magazine and tell if the library offers online access or print access to the periodical you need.

Loading...
